top of page

Koolmill - The Manufacturer TOP100 2015 Award

The Manufacturer magazine has revealed the nation’s most inspiring and influential individuals in its TM Top 100 2015.

This evening, shortlisted candidates and the wider manufacturing community joined industry leaders and F1 in Schools’ Steve Nevey at an exclusive event at Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery to celebrate the report launch.

The project, this year sponsored by Autodesk, BDO and Lloyds Bank, aims to dispel myths surrounding manufacturing and create a platform to champion and publicly identify dynamic leaders and innovators in the sector.

This year, shortlisted candidates hail from all over the country, from a range of sectors and occupy varying roles in manufacturing. Names that made it on the list as exemplary figures included F1 founder Andrew Denford; Sarah Watkinson-Yull of Yull shoes; Tunnock’s Boyd Tunnock; and David Nieper MD Christopher Nieper.

Individuals were nominated by you, our readers, the wider industrial community and the public, for their contributions in changing the face of industry; finding new markets; making marked investment in people, processes and customers; as well as those young, bright sparks that are making an impact disproportionate to their years.

The list was decided by an expert panel of judges from academia, industry and the wider manufacturing community including: Asif Moghal, industry manager, Manufacturing ISM, Autodesk; Tom Lawton, business assurance partner, BDO; David Atkinson, head of manufacturing, Lloyds Bank; Rachel Eade MBE, national sector lead for automotive, Manufacturing Advisory Service; Dick Elsy, CEO, High Value Manufacturing Catapult; Paul Everitt, CEO, ADS; Nigel Fine, CEO, Institution of Engineering and Technology; Alan Foster, operations director, McLaren Racing; Philip Greenish CBE, CEO, Royal Academy of Engineering; Professor Sir Mike Gregory CBE, outgoing head of the Institute of Manufacturing, Cambridge University; Judith Hackitt CBE, chair, Health and Safety Executive; Prof John Perkins, formerly chief scientific officer, BIS; Jane Robinson, director, Cutting Technologies; Terry Scuoler, CEO, EEF; Jan Ward CBE, CEO, Corrotherm; Zoe Webster, head of High Value Manufacturing, Innovate UK .

Judge Asif Moghal of Autodesk."We're on the brink of a new industrial revolution, so it's never been more important to showcase how British manufacturers are driving productivity, innovation and repetitive advantage. The Top 100 celebrates this shamelessly, and we need more of that."

BDO’s Tom Lawton, also a 2015 judge, told TM, “In my view manufacturing is the most important sector in the rebalancing of the UK economy and for the second year The Manufacturer Top 100 is providing an essential platform to recognise talented role models who will inspire and attract future generations.”

Dave Atkinson of Lloyds added, "The Manufacturer Top 100 is a fabulous opportunity for those in the sector to recognise people that make such a huge impact and sometime just don’t realise it, let along get recognised for it… All too often the headlines get forgotten but the legacy of some peoples actions and behaviours last forever."

Koolmill MD, Alec Anderson said "Fiona and myself are thrilled to be recognised by our peers. Joining such an inspirational cohort is exciting and we are very proud to represent UK manufacturing improving the world through innovative engineering.”


bottom of page